top of page

Malcolm C. Grow Award

Criteria for Selection

The intent of this award is to recognize outstanding contributions of Department of the Air Force flight surgeons to the aerospace organization. The nominee should have demonstrated an outstanding concern for aerospace personnel as indicated by unusual rapport with the aerospace community and by exceptionally effective support of an aerospace organization. The nominee should have a documented record of outstanding achievement in the aeromedical support of the aerospace community. Recognition and control of aeromedical hazards faced by operators, improvement of medical service to aerospace personnel, or an investigative project promising improvement in the health or safety of a group of aerospace personnel would warrant consideration.


There are no restrictions as to rank, age, or membership in the Society. Nominees must be Regular, Reserve, or Guard flight surgeons. Nominees should be flight surgeons actively engaged in support of the flying, space, and special operations missions.


Any member of the Society can nominate an individual. The Chairman of the Awards Committee of the Society will prepare and send a letter to the command surgeon of each major command (MAJCOM), including the United States Air Force Academy, the Air National Guard, and the Air Force Reserves. Each MAJCOM surgeon's office may select and present one nominee for consideration to the Awards Committee. The nomination will consist of a completed form which includes a one-page narrative summary outlining the nominee's qualifications for the award and accomplishments. The nomination package may be supported by two letters of recommendation, each no longer than one page in length. These recommendations must include an endorsement from the nominee's medical group commander and one from the flying squadron commander. Nomination packages must be received electronically by the Chairman of the Awards Committee.

Malcolm C. Grow Award: News

Award Selection

The Chairman of the Awards Committee will prepare a ballot on which will appear the names of the selected nominees. The ballot, as well as a copy of the nominees' nomination narratives and accompanying recommendations, will be provided to each voting member on the Society's Awards Committee Review Panel.

Each member will rank the nominees after scoring according to the scheme below or write "abstain" on the ballot.

Scoring scheme is:

  • 10 points for Rapport with the Flying Community;

  • 10 points for Breadth of Engagement/Impact;

  • 10 points for Innovation in Meeting Challenges.

Scoring should take into account nominee's rank and experience, comparing him/her to peers vice other nominees who may be quite junior.

The winner will be the nominee receiving the highest rankings. In the event that only a single name is entered in nomination for the award in a given year, the Board of Governors will vote as to whether that person should receive the award. Following tabulation of votes, the Chairman of the Awards Committee will provide the name of the winner to the Society's President before the winner is announced to the Board. The President shall have the final right to approve the winner as recipient of the award. If the President does not so approve, the award will not be given in that year.

The President of the Society and/or Chair of the Awards Committee will announce the award winner at the Society of USAF Flight Surgeons Luncheon held during the annual Scientific Meeting of the Aerospace Medical Association. A plaque will be presented to the award winner at this luncheon. Additionally, beginning with the 2007 award, the winner will be awarded a lifetime membership in the Society.

Malcolm C. Grow Award: Text

Past Winners

Malcolm C. Grow Award: Text
bottom of page